Licensing facts · 2026
Arkansas real estate license timeline
$50 application fee + $50 license fee + $25 recovery fund (AREC FAQ); license/recovery fees due within 90 days of passing. Background check $36.25 ($22 ASP + $14.25 FBI) per AREC non-resident notice and RealEstateU; resident online-portal fee not stated by AREC. Exam $75 if both portions booked together. Broker: 60 hrs incl. 45-hr AREC Broker Pre-License Course; 24 months active licensure within prior 48. Transfer tax payer not specified on DFA page; customarily split/negotiated. No E&O mandate found. No published pass rates found. Workforce Expansion Act fee waiver may apply.
- Required education hours
- 60
- Typical weeks low
- 6
- Typical weeks high
- 14
Sources
- https://arec.arkansas.gov/wp-content/uploads/Candidate-Handbook.pdf
- https://arec.arkansas.gov/licensing/new-applicant/
- https://arec.arkansas.gov/licensing/frequently-asked-questions/
- https://arec.arkansas.gov/news_post/arec-announces-automated-criminal-background-check-process/
- https://www.dfa.arkansas.gov/excise-tax/miscellaneous-tax/real-estate
- https://realestateu.com/real-estate/guides/arkansas-real-estate-license-cost
Last verified: 2026-10-23