Licensing facts · 2026
How much does a Rhode Island real estate license cost?
Exam $103 = Pearson VUE national $53 + state $50. DBR salesperson application (2024 form): $140 license/application + $25 Recovery Account. RI AG BCI check is required, amount not stated (null); E&O certificate is required, premium not stated (null); totals assume about $100-300 E&O. A 3-hr lead hazard course is also required. Apply within 1 year of passing; DBR processing about 3 weeks. Broker: 90 hrs + 2 yrs full-time salesperson (Kaplan, secondary source); the handbook is inconsistent on broker state items (50 vs 60). Conveyance tax is legally on the grantor (customarily the seller). No pass rates published.
- License fee
- $140.00
- Exam fee
- $103.00
- Fingerprint fee
- Not available
- Estimated total low
- $650.00
- Estimated total high
- $1,300.00
Sources
- https://www.DBR.ri.gov/sites/g/files/xkgbur696/files/2024-02/RE-Sales_App.pdf
- https://www.pearsonvue.com/content/dam/VUE/vue/en/documents/publications/094000.pdf
- https://www.kapre.com/real-estate/rhode-island/state-requirements
- https://www.rirealtors.org/clientuploads/Resources/Div_of_Tax_Conveyance_Tax_Increase-2025.pdf
Last verified: 2026-10-23