Licensing facts · 2026

How much does a New Jersey real estate license cost?

PSI bulletin (2/1/2026): exam $38; license $160 to State Treasurer = $100 license + $50 application + $10 Guaranty Fund (license covers the 2-yr cycle ending 6/30/2027; proration not stated). Fingerprint $66.05 to IDEMIA/IdentoGO (DOBI page). Eligibility expires 1 yr from issue; schedule fingerprints right after passing. rate_per_1000 is the effective base RTF on a $500K sale (~$4,175 = 8.35/1000); RTF FAQ page still says buyer remits the 1% fee - superseded by P.L.2025 c.69 (seller pays graduated fee). Broker: 150 hrs (90 general + two 30-hr courses), 3 yrs full-time salesperson experience pre-approved by REC ($25 experience application); broker license $270 ($200+$50+$20 guaranty). Broker exam national/state split not stated. No published pass rates.