Licensing facts · 2026
New Jersey real estate license timeline
PSI bulletin (2/1/2026): exam $38; license $160 to State Treasurer = $100 license + $50 application + $10 Guaranty Fund (license covers the 2-yr cycle ending 6/30/2027; proration not stated). Fingerprint $66.05 to IDEMIA/IdentoGO (DOBI page). Eligibility expires 1 yr from issue; schedule fingerprints right after passing. rate_per_1000 is the effective base RTF on a $500K sale (~$4,175 = 8.35/1000); RTF FAQ page still says buyer remits the 1% fee - superseded by P.L.2025 c.69 (seller pays graduated fee). Broker: 150 hrs (90 general + two 30-hr courses), 3 yrs full-time salesperson experience pre-approved by REC ($25 experience application); broker license $270 ($200+$50+$20 guaranty). Broker exam national/state split not stated. No published pass rates.
- Required education hours
- 75
- Typical weeks low
- 5
- Typical weeks high
- 14
Sources
- https://test-takers.psiexams.com/api/content/bulletin/1663
- https://www.nj.gov/dobi/division_rec/licensing/fingerprint.html
- https://nj.gov/treasury/taxation/pdf/lpt/GraduatedPercentFeeNotice.pdf
- https://www.nj.gov/treasury/taxation/lpt/rtffaqs.shtml
- https://www.troutman.com/insights/new-jersey-increases-mansion-tax-rates-and-shifts-payment-obligation-to-sellers.html
- https://realestateu.com/real-estate/guides/new-jersey-real-estate-license-cost
Last verified: 2026-10-23